jerith ([info]jerith) wrote,
@ 2007-05-18 10:58:00
Previous Entry  Add to memories!  Tell a Friend  Next Entry
FNB does something right
The other day I received a phishing email targeting First National Bank, so I forwarded it to their online fraud thingy:
From: Jeremy Thurgood
To: Risk Online
Subject: Phishing email

Good day,

Attached is a phishing email I received targeting FNB.  I am not an FNB=20
customer myself and the phish is rather obvious, but I thought I'd=20
forward it in case you weren't aware of this particular incarnation.

Thanks,
Jeremy

Today I received a reply:
From: "Risk Online" <risk.online@fnb.co.za>
To: "Jeremy Thurgood"

Dear Jeremy,

"Thank you" for taking the time to inform us about the suspicious email
you received and forwarding us the actual email.

The e-mail you received which appeared to be from FNB is not legitimate.

It is part of a fraudulent scam to illegally acquire your personal
financial information.

We are aware of the Phishing scam and advise that the fraudulent website
is in the process of being shut down.

Please do not to access websites through links in e-mails, rather type
the site address directly into the browser address bar.

Regards,

FNB Online Risk
Risk.online@fnb.co.za

I don't know why they felt the need to quote "Thank you", but it's nice to see that they're actually taking some notice of this kind of thing. It's a very poor reflection on the current state of the banking industry that this is surprising...


Advertisement


(Read 1 comment)

Post a comment in response:

From:
Help
Identity URL: 
Username:
Password:
Don't have an account? Create one now.
Subject:
No HTML allowed in subject
   Help
Message:

 
Create an Account
Forgot your login or password?
Login w/ OpenID
English • Español • Deutsch • Русский…